Celebrating 150 Years

On 30 March 1874, the Diocese of Sandhurst was established from four mission stations: Bendigo (Sandhurst as it was known then) Heathcote, Beechworth and Wangaratta.

Prior to the establishment of Sandhurst, these missions were part of the (then) Diocese of Melbourne.  On this day, 150 years ago, the Diocese of Ballarat was also established and the Diocese of Melbourne became an Archdiocese. 

Palm Sunday Pilgrimage launches Jubilee Year 


Jubilee celebrations commenced on Palm Sunday with a Pilgrimage from St Kilian's Church to Sacred Heart Cathedral.  Tracing part of the Diocese's history from the pro-cathedral of St Kilian's to Sacred Heart Cathedral which was opened in 1901. 

Click on the image above to watch video

Read more >> 


Chrism Mass or Mass of the Holy Oils 


On Holy Tuesday (26 March 2024) Clergy, Professed Religious and parishioners from the forty parishes of the Diocese gathered as the local Church of Sandhurst at Sacred Heart Cathedral. 

Click on the image above to watch livestreamed video